Breakfast

According to many sources, breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I have heard many reasons for this and also perks like eating breakfast can help with losing weight. Either way, breakfast foods are my favorite of any meal. I could eat breakfast for lunch or dinner, but I can’t eat lunch or dinner foods for breakfast. It just isn’t right. 🙂
I definitely want my kids to eat breakfast everyday. I remember that I had a friend in elementary school and her mom would make them a homemade breakfast everyday. All kinds of things! My parents made us homemade breakfasts often. It was usually pancakes/waffles or bacon and eggs. Great standard breakfasts. I can definitely make bacon and scramble or boil an egg. I’m not so good at frying the eggs. I can also make things like pancakes or muffins from a mix. I would really like to learn how to make them from scratch. When we were younger, my mom would make us waffles and freeze some for days she didn’t make us breakfast. Easy and just as delicious to heat one up. Well, in my adventures to being a more frugal mom, I’m going to learn how to freeze a lot of foods. I got a recipe from the writer of Chronicles of a Natural Mom and Amateur Vegetarian Gourmet for made from scratch pancakes. Here is the recipe:
===========
Ingredients
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour (or all white)
3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup ground flax seeds (optional)
2 cups whole milk
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons light olive oil or unsalted butter, melted, plus more for frying and serving

Whisk dry ingredients in large bowl. Whisk milk, eggs, and vanilla in medium bowl, then whisk in oil/butter. Stir milk mixture into dry ingredients.

Heat large nonstick griddle or skillet over medium heat; brush with butter. For each pancake, drop 1/4 cup batter onto griddle. Cook until brown, about 2 minutes per side.
===========
I can’t wait to try this recipe out! I have purchased all of the ingredients I didn’t already have in the kitchen, and I just happen to have some berries in the fridge that need to be eaten before they go bad. So soon, I will be making homemade from scratch blueberry pancakes, and I plan on freezing whatever I can’t eat.
How to freeze pancakes:
First cool them thoroughly after cooking them. Wrap each pancake individually in pastic wrap or place between wax paper. Then you can stack them and put them in freezer bags. I’m hoping to make enough to also take some to my mom and sister who have been cooking me a lot of dinners lately! 🙂
I’ll let you know how they turn out!

About stacimck

SAHM to a boy born 11/28/2009. Expecting a girl in 06/2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast

  1. justthe10 says:

    I like doing pancakes and freezing them! I, personally, do half wheat/white mix when making. They freeze really nice, don’t reheat as rubbery, and are not too heavy like some all wheat recipes.

    How did this one turn out for you?

Leave a Reply

