Cloth Diapers

In my quest to cut expenses, I’ve decided to try cloth diapers.  It was something I considered even before Jack was born, but I had no idea where to start, where to get them, etc.  Lately, I’ve talked to people who cloth diaper and have learned quite a bit.  I was still kind of iffy about it, so I decided a trial would be the best way to start.  I decided on the 21-day trial from Jillian’s Drawers because it looked like it had a good variety of different types, so I could really figure out what worked for me and Jack.  Here is what I received in the trial:
2 bleached Chinese prefolds
2 unbleached Indian prefolds
1 Snappi diaper fastener
1 Kissaluvs fitted diaper
1 Thirsties duo wrap
1 Fuzzibunz pocket diaper with insert
1 bumGenius! one-size pocket diaper with inserts
1 Thirsties duo diaper
1 bumGenius! V3.0 All-in-one
1 Gro Via shell with 1 soaker
1 Smartipants one-size pocket diaper with insert
5 flushable liners

I am definitely still figuring things out, but I think it’s going to work for us.  I know Jack is 10-months old and it’s not going to save us as much money as it would’ve if we’d started cloth diapering from the beginning, but I will have at least one more child, and we can start from the beginning with that one, so it will save us quite a bit in that sense.  Some people told me I wouldn’t like it, I wouldn’t want to do it, etc, and I’m glad to be proving them wrong.  I’m going to write about each item and what I think about them, just as a note to myself if I forget.  Different things work for different people, so if you’re reading this, please don’t think that because it didn’t work for me, it definitely won’t work for you.

I’m going to start from the bottom of the list.  The flushable liners are a great idea.  I’m still figuring them out a little bit.  The first time I used them, it got all twisted and moved in his diaper and was pretty pointless.  The last time I used them, it was a little better.  I guess I just need more experience with them.  I’m not a fan of playing in the toilet water, so I might end up getting a sprayer.
I’m really liking the Smartipants.  It has snaps instead of Aplix (velcro).  I’m thinking I will buy more of this brand.
I do not like the Gro Via one.  We’ve used it twice so far, and it has leaked both times.  I’m sure it doesn’t do that for everyone, so I don’t know why it’s doing that for us.
I like the bumGenius! AIO (all-in-one), but it uses Aplix.  That’s the one thing I don’t like about it.
Thirsties Duo Diaper has a double insert that snaps together.  It’s a good one, but has Aplix.
The bumGenius! pocket diaper is ok, but I feel like I need to use the last set of snaps on him, but then the front of the diaper bows outward, so I’m forced to snap it a little farther in and then I feel like it’s too tight.
I love the Fuzzibunz!  I really don’t have much else to say about it.  It had snaps and fit well.
The Thirsties Duo Wrap is used with the Kissaluvs and prefolds.
Kissaluvs was a fleece diaper.  I only tried it once, and it leaked on me.  It could’ve been that my son just had a super full bladder or something though.
The Prefolds I only tried once and didn’t really like them.  I didn’t really know how to use them well though.

Out of them all, I would probably buy Fuzzibunz, Smartipants, and <u>maybe</u> the BumGenius.  I ended up sending them all back except for the Fuzzibunz and Smartipants mostly because I couldn’t fit them all in the box I chose. 😛
All of them that I got through the trial were blue and green and I wanted some cute designs and other colors too.  That’s another reason for sending them back.
I have already purchased a few through eBay and Etsy. I have yet to use them though because Jack has been battling diarrhea.  I admit, it’s just easier to use disposables for the poop.  I will start back up with cloth soon.  Especially when I get enough to use them round the clock.

I guess that’s all I have to say about them for now.  I’ve been working on this post for over a month, so I think I’ll just post it already! 🙂

About stacimck

SAHM to a boy born 11/28/2009. Expecting a girl in 06/2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cloth Diapers

  1. justthe10 says:

    We are going back to cloth, mainly for monetary reasons right now, and I am thankful that I kept my stash from when the girls were all in them. I hope the boys don’t mind a few pink butts now and again. 😉

    I am addicted to pocket diapers because I can adjust the guts to what I need.

Leave a Reply

