My fat baby :)

I am a pretty small person.  I am 5’3, and I swear I was 5’3 in 7th grade.  I have never (except while pregnant) weighed more than 110 lbs.  There used to be a big joke about how a guy had to be 6’4 or taller for me to date them.  I told everyone it was so my sons would have a chance. lol Really I just like to feel small, and that was pretty easy with someone much larger than myself. I am also a very softspoken, quiet person.

Who knew the love of my life would only be 5’11. lol He’s not a large man either. He is, however, probably the smallest one in his family.  He has a large family too…6 sisters and 1 brother.  He also has a large head.  He is a fairly shy, quiet person.

The whole time I was pregnant I was worried that I would be having a large baby with a huge head.  Everytime they would do an ultrasound, I would have them measure his head.  I really didn’t want him to get stuck.  My husband was almost 10 lbs at birth and his son (my stepson) was almost 10 as well.  So at times I really feared having what was sure to be a 12-lb baby by emergency C-section after getting his huge head stuck in my small pelvis.

I got pretty lucky…or so I consider myself. My son was born at 38 weeks and 6 days. He was only 7 lbs 6 oz, and his head fit just fine.  I won’t get into how his birth took place or anything.  With the topic of this post, it doesn’t really matter. When we left the hospital he was down to 7 lbs and I had to make an extra appt with his pediatrician and he was put on a feeding schedule to gain weight (at the time I was breastfeeding).

I believe it was by his 3-month appt that he was registering in the 90s percentile-wise for his weight.  His head has always been in the upper 90th percentile.  He quickly chunked up. Take the rolls on the back of his legs for example:

This was about 3 months old.  Notice his fat rolls have fat rolls. 🙂 He didn’t get very tall until about 6 months. He is now 11 months old and has been wearing size 18M for a month or so.  He’s also loud.  People always mistake him for being way older than he is…even up to age 3!

I honestly never imagined having a fat, loud baby, but I honestly wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂  And as someone once told me, fat babies are cuter than skinny babies anyway. 😛

About stacimck

SAHM to a boy born 11/28/2009. Expecting a girl in 06/2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My fat baby :)

  1. Jessica says:

    Just came across your blog!

    I love me some baby fat! (On a baby of course, not on myself! ;))

  2. justthe10 says:

    Your tiny like me. 🙂 I’m only 5’2″, on a tall day. I am usually fairly thin frame with exception of when I am pregnant or breast feeding too.

    My favorite baby was my 9 lb 1 oz baby with the rolls in her rolls. 🙂 Baby chub, on babies, is super cute.

Leave a Reply

