An update to the recipe post, I was doing laundry about a week ago and realized we were on the last load of detergent and had no money to go buy any.  Luckily, I had already stocked all of the ingredients I needed to make a batch (smaller than the posted recipe), so Jack and I got to work mixing it up.  The smaller batch recipe we made was:
1 bar Fels Naptha
2 cups washing soda
2 cups borax
First I had to grate the soap.  It wasn’t as bad as I was expecting and dreading and didn’t take as long either! 🙂 Here is the grated soap in all its glory:

Then we added in the washing soda.

 

Next Jack helped me pour in the borax.

Here is Jack pouring it in.

We reused our old detergent box instead of buying something new for it.

And here is the finished product:

Only 1-2 tbsp needed per load.  This made me feel very frugal and like I was doing something great for my family. 🙂  I heard recently that Fels Naptha is not really very eco-friendly.  Unfortunately I had already bought two bars when I heard that.  Once I use those, I will buy a soap that’s a bit more eco-friendly.

Just wanted to share the process with all of you! 🙂  Easy peasy!

About stacimck

SAHM to a boy born 11/28/2009. Expecting a girl in 06/2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

